Deloitte: Poland enters the phase of economic expansion

The divergence of economic moods in Poland...

Two Years On: War in Ukraine and Its Global Impact

On February 24, 2022, a full-scale Russian...

President Andrzej Duda Appoints Donald Tusk’s Government

POLITICSPresident Andrzej Duda Appoints Donald Tusk's Government

President Andrzej Duda appointed the Council of Ministers, selected by the Sejm, with Prime Minister Donald Tusk and received their oaths of office. Speaker of the Sejm Szymon Hołownia participated in the ceremony at the Presidential Palace. Others who attended the event included Marshal of the Senate Małgorzata Kidawa-Błońska, Deputy Speakers of the Sejm Krzysztof Bosak, Włodzimierz Czarzasty, Dorota Niedziela, Monika Wielichowska, Piotr Zgorzelski, parliamentarians, and the head of the Sejm Chancellery Jacek Cichocki.

“I want to congratulate you primarily on the fact that you have won in the political process. We have not had such a situation since 1989. In a great, large turnout, an election decision was made that gave victory to one party, but the political process resulting from the elections essentially ended today with the victory of another part of the political scene. I congratulate you on your determination and decisiveness to fight in the elections, achieve the best possible result and above all take into your hands the responsibility for Polish affairs. From today on, we hold this responsibility for Polish affairs together,” emphasised President Andrzej Duda addressing the members of Donald Tusk’s government.

“For me, a few things are very simple: firstly, the permanence of the Republic, its sovereignty, independence, so that it has its place not only as it does on the map of Europe, but also so that it has the ability to make decisions, and that it always retains these abilities so that Poles can make decisions themselves in their homeland” said the President of the Republic of Poland. “This is an absolutely fundamental issue for me” he stressed. Andrzej Duda assured that he is open to cooperation with Donald Tusk’s government.

“Faithfulness to the decisions of the Constitution will be the hallmark of this team, the new government,” assured Prime Minister Donald Tusk. “In recent days we all feel that the word ‘constitution’ has come back into fashion. Our common task is to make it a fashion not for the word, but for the Constitution, and it will certainly not pass until the last days of our government. I can promise this to you, Mr. President”

On Monday, 11 December, the Sejm elected Donald Tusk as the President of the Council of Ministers. On 12 December, the Chamber, at the request of the Prime Minister, appointed the following to the Council of Ministers: Władysław Kosiniak-Kamysz as Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of National Defense, Krzysztof Gawkowski as Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Digitisation, Maciej Berka as Minister – Member of the Council of Ministers, Adam Bodnar as Minister of Justice, Agnieszka Buczyńska as Minister for Civil Society and Chairperson of the Public Benefit Committee, Borys Budka as Minister of State Assets, Marzena Czarnecka as Minister of Industry, Andrzej Domański as Minister of Finance, Agnieszka Dziemianowicz-Bąk as Minister of Family, Labor and Social Policy, Jan Grabiec as Minister – Member of the Council of Ministers, Paulina Hennig-Kloska as Minister of Climate and Environment, Krzysztof Hetman as Minister of Development and Technology, Marcin Kierwiński as Minister of Interior and Administration, Dariusz Klimczak as Minister of Infrastructure, Katarzyna Kotula as Minister for Equality, Izabela Leszczyna as Minister of Health, Sławomir Nitras as Minister of Sport and Tourism, Barbara Nowacka as Minister of Education, Marzena Okła-Drewnowicz as Minister of Senior Policy, Katarzyna Pełczyńska-Nałęcz as Minister of Funds and Regional Policy, Czesław Siekierski as Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, Tomasz Siemoniak as Minister – Member of the Council of Ministers, Bartłomiej Sienkiewicz as Minister of Culture and National Heritage, Radosław Sikorski as Minister of Foreign Affairs, Adam Szłapka as Minister for European Union Affairs, and Dariusz Wieczorek as Minister of Science.

Check out our other content
Related Articles
The Latest Articles